#### **IFMBE Awards Committee 2013 - 2015**

Chair: James GOH

Co-Chairman: Ratko MAGJAREVIĆ

Members:

Akos JOBBAGY Susana LLANUSA Monique FRIZE Depei LIU Murat FIRAT Arthur MAK

# **Existing IFMBE Awards:**

- IFMBE Zworykin and Otto Schmidt Awards (in conjunction with World Congress)
  Awardees are granted free nights at main World Congress hotel and waived registration fee
  (including their spouses). The awardees would have to accept to give a plenary lecture at
  the World Congress.
- IFMBE Distinguished Service Awards (in conjunction with World Congress)
  The IFMBE Distinguished Service Award is presented to a person who has substantially contributed to the development, visibility and reputation on the world's scale.
- IFMBE James Zimmermann Award (Biennially)

James Zimmermann is an engineer who contributed to the development of measurement methodology and instrumentation based on SOUID.

More details: http://qdev.boulder.nist.gov/817.03/staff/zimmerman/jez.htm.

The Award is presented at the BIOMAG conferences for the field of biomagnetism.

## Nightingale Award (yearly)

The award is presented once a year based on the criteria set by the Editorial Board of MBEC. Awardee to attend an IFMBE co-sponsored or endorsed conference, closest to his/her current residence where he would b presented the award and would give a plenary speech.

#### • Young Investigator Competition

10 selected finalists of which best three are awarded. The Award has three levels based on the size of the IFMBE co-sponsored or endorsed conference:

Up to 300 participants is EUR 1000 plus plaques

Above 600 participants is EUR 1500 plus plaques

Over 600 participants is EUR 2000 EUR plus plaques

IFMBE will sponsor Young Investigators Competitions on 50-50 basis of up to 1000 EUR.

## **Proposed new IFMBE Awards**

# • IFMBE-IAMBE Early Career Awards (in conjunction with World Congress)

IAMBE proposed these awards to recognize talented young BME researchers at the start of their academic careers (ie at Assistant Professorship level) during the World Congress. The proposal is to give out 4 awards of 3,000 EUR each, to each of the four IFMBE Regions. IAMBE will prepare the charter for this award.

## • IFMBE-CED Awards

The objective of these awards is to recognize and incentivize individual and group developments. CED will prepare the charter for these awards and submit the final version by the end of 2013.

# • IFMBE- "WiBME" Awards

The WiBME Committee proposed to create an award that is named after a notable woman Biomedical Engineer. This is to recognize the contribution of woman biomedical engineers, although the awardee is non-gender specific. WiBME Committee will prepare the charter for this award.

(The budget for these proposed new awards is catered for by the respective groups.)

# **Budget request:**

# <u>2013:</u>

New James Zimmermann Award (BIOMAG 2013)	1,000 EUR
Nightingale Award	1,000 EUR
	*
Young Investigator Competition (MEDICON 2013)	1,800 EUR
Other costs (plaques, etc.):	200 EUR
Total:	4,000 EUR
2014:	
Young Investigator Competition (EC-IFMBE 2014)	1,800 EUR
Young Investigator Competition (CLAIB 2014)	1,500 EUR
Young Investigator Competition (NBC 2014)	1,000 EUR
Young Investigator Competition (APCMBE 2014)	1,500 EUR
Nightingale Award	1,000 EUR
Other costs (plaques, etc.):	200 EUR
Total:	7,000 EUR
	7,000 = 011
2015:	
IFMBE Zworykin Award	2,500 EUR
IFMBE Otto Schmidt Awards (WC 2015)	2,500 EUR
·	*
IFMBE Service Award (WC 2015)	2,000 EUR
James Zimmermann Award (BIOMAG 2015)	1,000 EUR
Young Investigator Competition (WC 2015)	2,000 EUR
Nightingale Award	1,000 EUR
Other costs (plaques, etc.):	500 EUR
Total:	11,500 EUR