IFMBE Administrative Council IFMBE General Assembly

IFMBE Awards Committee Report for the period 2009-2012

Chair: Ratko Magjarević Co-chair: Herbert Voigt

Members:

Akos Jobbagy, Hungary, jobbagy@mit.bme.hu Shankar Krishnan, USA, smkrishnan@gmail.com Susana LLANUSA, Cuba, susy@infomed.sld.cu Toh Siew Lok-MPE', Singapore, mpetohsl@nus.edu.sg

I. Nominations for the IFMBE Awards

1- IFMBE Zworykin Award

The Call for nominations has been announced at the IFMBE web site sent by electronic mail to the representatives of the IFMBE affiliated societies timely.

Based on the nominations received, the Awards Committee has recommended Prof. Damijan Miklavcic, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia, to the IFMBE AC for the IFMBE Zworykin Award for 2012. The IFMBE AC has approved the proposal. The Awardee has been informed of the selection by the IFMBE President, has accepted the Award and will be present at the WC 2012, Beijing for the presentation of the Award and will present a public lecture during the World Congress. The information on the Awardee has been posted at the IFMBE home page and published in the IFMBE Newsletter. The organizers of the WC 2012 have also been informed and sent the data on the Awardee, but at the time of writing of this report, the name and the title of the lectures has not been announced at the WC 2012 web site.

2- Otto Schmidt Award

The Call for nominations has been announced at the IFMBE web site sent by electronic mail to the representatives of the IFMBE affiliated societies timely.

Based on the nominations received, the Awards Committee has recommended Prof. Zhi-Pei Liang, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, USA, to the IFMBE AC for the IFMBE Otto Schmidt Award for 2012. The IFMBE AC has approved the proposal. The Awardee has been informed of the selection by the IFMBE President, has accepted the Award and will be present at the WC 2012, Beijing for the presentation of the Award and will present a public lecture during the World Congress. The information on the Awardee has been posted at the IFMBE home page and published in the IFMBE Newsletter. The organizers of the WC 2012 have also been informed and sent the data on the Awardee, but at the time of writing of this report, the name and the title of the lectures has not been announced at the WC 2012 web site.

3- IUPESM Award of Merit for the BME

The Call for nominations has been announced at the IFMBE web site sent by electronic mail to the representatives of the IFMBE affiliated societies timely.

Based on the nominations received, the Awards Committee has recommended Prof. Joachim H. Nagel, University of Stuttgart, Germany, to the IFMBE AC for the IUPESM Award of Merit for the BME for 2012. The IFMBE AC has approved the proposal. The proposal was further approved by the IUPESM AC. The Awardee has been informed of the selection by the IUPESM Secretary General, has accepted the Award and will be present at the WC 2012, Beijing for the presentation of the Award and will present a public lecture during the World Congress. The information on the Awardee has been posted at the IFMBE home page and published in the IFMBE Newsletter. The organizers of the WC 2012 have also been informed and sent the data on the Awardee, but at the time of writing of this report, the name and the title of the lectures has not been announced at the WC 2012 web site.

4- Nightingale Award

The award is presented once a year to the first author of a paper published in the previous year in the IFMBE Journal, the MBEC. The selection is based on the number of citations of the paper and additional criteria set by the Editorial Board of MBEC. The name of the Award winner is announced in an Editorial of MBEC by the MBEC Editor in Chief.

5- Young Investigator Competition

The YIC have been organized at all IFMBE regional conferences held in the reporting period and at the WC 2012. The Award criteria and rules remained the same as set in the Guidelines for the YIC. The number of selected finalists is usually 10 out of which best three are awarded. The monetary part of the Award is recommended to have three levels based on the participation at the IFMBE co-sponsored conferences:

up to 300 participants is 1000 USD,

from 300 to 600 participants it is 1500 USD and over 600 participants it is 2000 USD.

Newly introduced IFMBE Awards

6- IFMBE James Edward Zimmermann Prize (JZP)

The IFMBE James Edward Zimmermann Prize was presented for the first time at the BIOMAG 2010 conference held in Dubrovnik, Croatia, in late March 2010 to Dr. Nevzat Gencer who contributed to the development of measurement methodology and instrumentation based on SQUID on the occasion of the 40th anniversary of first implementation of SQUID in magnetocardiology. The JZP was introduced in order to increase the visibility of the IFMBE within the Biomagnetic Association.

The Charter of the Prize was approved by the IFMBE AC in 2010 and the Agreement between IFMBE and the International Advisory Board (IAB) of the BIOMAG Conferences was signed in November 2011.

The Prize is presented biannually (every second year) in synchronism with the BIOMAG conferences. The monetary award is 1,000 EUR.

In 2012 the IFMBE JZP is going to be presented at the 18th BIOMAG conference to be held in Paris, in August 2012.

7- IFMBE Distinguished Service Awards (DSA)

The IFMBE Distinguished Service Award would be presented to a person who has substantially contributed to the development, visibility and reputation on the world's scale.

The charter of the DSA is being prepared and shall be presented to the IFMBE AC at its meeting in Beijing in May 2012.

I would like to suggest to name the Award in honour of Dr. John A. Hopps (1919-1998), one of the pioneers of the artificial pacemaker and is often referred to as the "father of biomedical engineering in Canada". John Hopps served as the IFMBE President from 1971 and as the Secretary General of the Federation from 1976-1985. The WC 2015 to be held in Toronto in Canada seems to be a good occasion for starting the presentation of the Award which shall comprise a monetary award of 2,000 EUR and a plaque.

8- IFMBE Student Development Award (SDA)

With the World Congress approaching, IFMBE President and myself discovered that IFMBE is missing the recognition for and should introduce a new award for a special group of BME youngest generation of BME developers and researchers. IFMBE President managed to incorporate the youngest generation of BME researchers into the structure of IFMBE events through the special session at the WC2012, IFMBE: Student Projects in Developing Countries.

Therefore, the idea of SDA was discussed within the Awards Committee and all members approved the idea.

At the time of writing this report, the reasoning and the IFMBE SDA Charter have been sent to the IFMBE AC for comments and (possible) endorsement.

Respectfully submitted,

Ratko Magjarevic, Chair

Zagreb, 21 April 2012